More Books:

Our Robots, Ourselves
Language: en
Pages: 208
Authors: David A. Mindell
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-10-13 - Publisher: Penguin

“[An] essential book… it is required reading as we seriously engage one of the most important debates of our time.”—Sherry Turkle, author of Reclaiming Conversation: The Power of Talk in a Digital Age From drones to Mars rovers—an exploration of the most innovative use of robots today and a provocative
Making Sense of AI
Language: en
Pages: 220
Authors: Anthony Elliott
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-23 - Publisher: John Wiley & Sons

Industrial robots, self-driving cars, customer-service chatbots and Google’s algorithmic predictions have brought the topic of artificial intelligence into public debate. Why is AI the source of such intense controversy and what are its economic, political, social and cultural consequences? Tracing the changing fortunes of artificial intelligence, Elliott develops a systematic
Humans and Robots
Language: en
Pages: 236
Authors: Sven Nyholm
Categories: Philosophy
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-03-09 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield Publishers

Can robots perform actions, make decisions, collaborate with humans, be our friends, perhaps fall in love, or potentially harm us? Even before these things truly happen, ethical and philosophical questions already arise. The reason is that we humans have a tendency to spontaneously attribute minds and “agency” to anything even
The New Breed
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Kate Darling
Categories: Technology & Engineering
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-20 - Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

For readers of The Second Machine Age or The Soul of an Octopus, a bold, exciting exploration of how building diverse kinds of relationships with robots—inspired by how we interact with animals—could be the key to making our future with robotic technology work. There has been a lot of ink
The American Robot
Language: en
Pages: 360
Authors: Dustin A. Abnet
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020 - Publisher:

"As Dustin Abnet shows, the robot-whether automaton, Mechanical Turk, cyborg, or iPhone, whether humanized machine or mechanized human being-has long been a fraught embodiment of human fears. Abnet investigates, moreover, how the discourse of the robot has reinforced social and economic inequalities as well as fantasies of social control. "Robots"