More Books:

A Fan's Notes
Language: en
Pages: 385
Authors: Frederick Exley
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 1988 - Publisher: Vintage

Mr. Exley, a schoolteacher in a dismal rural New York town, finds pleasure in rooting for the Giants and his own survival in modern American society
Code Green
Language: en
Pages: 227
Authors: Greg Jenkins
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2005 - Publisher: Vagabond Press

Chip Stone is a male nurse in a psychiatric hospital who has almost as many behavioral issues as the residents he cares for. Out in the "real" world, he discovers that the line between the sane and the not-so-sane is more gossamer than even he had suspected. With outrageous characters
The Winning Horseplayer
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: Andrew Beyer
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 1994 - Publisher: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt

The Winning Horseplayer, together with Beyer on Speed and Picking Winners, completes Andrew Beyer's triple crown. This advanced guide to handicapping is liberally spiced with the wit and wisdom that have made Beyer a legend in the sport.
From Hang Time to Prime Time
Language: en
Pages: 384
Authors: Pete Croatto
Categories: Sports & Recreation
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-12-01 - Publisher: Atria Books

Perfect for fans of Moneyball and The Book of Basketball, this vivid, thoroughly entertaining, and well-researched book explores the NBA’s surge in popularity in the 1970s and 1980s and its transformation into a global cultural institution. Far beyond simply being a sports league, the NBA has become an entertainment and
The Late-Career Novelist
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Hywel Dix
Categories: Literary Criticism
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-08-10 - Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

The first scholarly study of the phenomenon of the 'late-career novel', this book explores the ways in which bestselling contemporary novelists look back and respond to their earlier successes in their subsequent writings. Exploring the work of major novelists such as Angela Carter, V.S. Naipaul, Salman Rushdie, Ian McEwan, Julian